The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP). The concept of forming a society to protect composer’s rights began in 1914 at Shanley’s Restaurant at 43rd and Broadway. Lamb Victor Herbert was disturbed of how he, and others, were not receiving royalties for the performance of his work. Shortly thereafter, Herbert contacted fellow Lambs and copyright attorney, Nathan Burkan, and the process began. The Supreme Court’s decision (242 US 591: 611, e.d 516, Herbert vs. Shanley) set the stage, and ASCAP was founded in 1914 after many discussions in The Lambs’ Grille, six of the nine founding members were Lambs: Victor Herbert, Raymond Hubbell, Silvio Hein, Gustav Kerker, Glen McDonough and Nathan Burken. Of the 192 charter members, 35 were Lambs, among them were Jerome Kern, Oscar Hammerstein I, John Philip Sousa and Irving Berlin, with two Lambs becoming Presidents; Irving Berlin (1914-1918) and Henry Blossom (1917-1919).

The ASCAP Foundation was founded in 1974 by Lamb Jack Norworth.