32 Percent of Broadway Marquees: Lambs

By Kevin C Fitzpatrick 6/12/22

Eugene O'Neill Theatre - Book of MormonWith names of theatre marquees often changing on Broadway, names come and go. But did you know of the 41 Broadway theaters in New York, 13 had or have had names of Lambs’ members on them? That’s about 32 percent. Some are fairly well known to be Lambs, such as John Golden and Eugene O’Neill. Others are a little more hidden: The Neil Simon Theatre (Simon hasn’t joined the Club, yet) opened in 1927 as the Alvin Theatre, the combined names of two longtime Lambs: Alex A. Aarons, Elected 1919, and Vinton Freedley, Elected 1918.

Here is a list to look over of all Broadway theaters.

former name(s)
Al Hirschfeld Theatre
Martin Beck Theatre (1924–2003)
302 W. 45th St.1924
Ambassador Theatre
New Ambassador Theatre (1980)
Ambassador Theatre (1921–1980)
219 W. 49th St.1921
American Airlines Theatre
Selwyn Theatre (1918–2000)
Edgar Selwyn, Elected 1906227 W. 42nd St.1918
August Wilson Theatre
Virginia Theatre (1981–2005)
American Academy of Dramatic Arts (1953–1981)
ANTA Playhouse (1950–1953)
WOR Mutual Radio (1943–1950)
Guild Theatre (1925–1943)
245 W. 52nd St.1925
Belasco Theatre
Stuyvesant Theatre (1907–1910)
David Belasco, Elected 1893111 W. 44th St.1907
Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre
Royale Theatre (1940–2005)
John Golden Theatre (1934–1940)
Royale Theatre (1927–1934)
John Golden, Elected 1893242 W. 45th St.1927
Booth Theatre222 W. 45th St.1913
Broadhurst TheatreGeorge H. Broadhurst, Elected 1898235 W. 44th St.1917
Broadway Theatre
Cine Roma (1937–1939)
B.S. Moss's Broadway Theatre (1935–1937)
Broadway Theatre (1933–1935)
Earl Carroll's Broadway Theatre (1932–1933)
B.S. Moss's Broadway Theatre (1930–1932)
Universal's Colony Theatre (1926–1930)
B.S. Moss's Colony Theatre (1924–1926)
Earl Carroll, Elected 19171681 Broadway1924
Brooks Atkinson Theatre
Mansfield Theatre (1929–1960)
Lew Fields' Mansfield Theatre (1928–1929)
Mansfield Theatre (1926–1928)
Richard Mansfield, Elected 1883, Lew M. Fields, Elected 1903256 W. 47th St.1926
Circle in the Square Theatre235 W. 50th St.1972
Ethel Barrymore Theatre243 W. 47th St.1928
Eugene O'Neill Theatre
Coronet Theatre (1945–1959)
Forrest Theatre (1925–1945)
Eugene O'Neill, Elected 1950230 W. 49th St.1925
Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre
Plymouth Theatre (1917–2005)
236 W. 45th St.1917
Gershwin Theatre
Uris Theatre (1972–1983)
George Gershwin, Elected 1924222 W. 51st St.1972
Hayes Theater
Helen Hayes Theatre (1983–2018)
Little Theatre (1965–1983)
Winthrop Ames Theatre (1964–1965)
Little Theatre (1959–1964)
New York Times Hall (1941–1959)
Anne Nichols' Little Theatre (1936–1941)
Little Theatre (1912–1936)
240 W. 44th St.1912
Hudson Theatre
Savoy Nightclub (1981–1987)
Hudson Theatre (1903–1981)
141 W. 44th St.1903
Imperial Theatre249 W. 45th St.1923
James Earl Jones Theatre
Cort Theatre (1912–2022)
John Cort, Elected 1913138 W. 48th St.1912
John Golden Theatre
Theatre Masque (1927–1937)
John Golden, Elected 1893252 W. 45th St.1927
Longacre Theatre220 W. 48th St.1913
Lunt-Fontanne Theatre
Globe Theatre (1910–1957)
205 W. 46th St.1910
Lyceum Theatre
New Lyceum Theatre (1903)
149 W. 45th St.1903
Lyric Theatre
Foxwoods Theatre (2010–2014)
Hilton Theatre (2005–2010)
Ford Center for the Performing Arts (1998–2005)
214 W. 43rd St.1998
Majestic Theatre245 W. 44th St.1927
Marquis Theatre210 W. 46th St.1986
Minskoff Theatre200 W. 45th St.1973
Music Box Theatre239 W. 45th St.1921
Nederlander Theatre
Trafalgar Theatre (1979–1980)
Billy Rose Theatre (1959–1979)
National Theatre (1921–1959)
208 W. 41st St.1921
Neil Simon Theatre
Alvin Theatre (1927–1983)
(Alvin combined) Alex A. Aarons, Elected 1919, Vinton Freedley, Elected 1918250 W. 52nd St.1927
New Amsterdam Theatre214 W. 42nd St.1903
Palace Theatre1564 Broadway1913
Richard Rodgers Theatre
46th Street Theatre (1932–1990)
Chanin's 46th Street Theatre (1925–1932)
226 W. 46th St.1925
Samuel J. Friedman Theatre
Biltmore Theatre (1925–2008)
261 W. 47th St.1925
Shubert Theatre225 W. 44th St.1913
St. James Theatre
Erlanger's Theatre (1927–1932)
A.L. Erlanger, Elected 1892246 W. 44th St.1927
Stephen Sondheim Theatre
Henry Miller's Theatre (1998–2010)
Kit Kat Klub (1998)
Xenon (1978–1998)
Avon-at-the-Hudson (1972–1978)
Park-Miller Theatre (1970–1972)
Henry Miller's Theatre (1918–1970)
Henry Miller, Elected 1895124 W. 43rd St.1918
Studio 54
CBS Studio No. 52 (1946–1977)
CBS Radio Playhouse No. 4 (1942–1946)
New Yorker Theatre (1939–1942)
Federal Music Theatre (1937–1939)
Palladium Theatre (1936–1937)
Casino de Paris (1933–1936)
New Yorker Theatre (1930–1933)
Gallo Opera House (1927–1930)
254 W. 54th St.1927
Vivian Beaumont Theater150 W. 65th St.1965
Walter Kerr Theatre
Ritz Theatre (1921–1990)
Robert F. Kennedy Childrens' Theatre
219 W. 48th St.1921
Winter Garden Theatre
Cadillac Winter Garden Theatre (2002–2007)
Winter Garden Theatre (1911–2002)
1634 Broadway1911